Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens

29939148Never Let You Go
Chevy Stevens
Goodreads

Eleven years ago, Lindsey Nash escaped into the night with her young daughter and left an abusive relationship. Her ex-husband, Andrew, was sent to jail and Lindsey started over with a new life.

Now, Lindsey is older and wiser, with her own business and a teenage daughter who needs her more than ever. When Andrew is finally released from prison, Lindsey believes she has cut all ties and left the past behind her. But she gets the sense that someone is watching her, tracking her every move. Her new boyfriend is threatened. Her home is invaded, and her daughter is shadowed. Lindsey is convinced it’s her ex-husband, even though he claims he’s a different person. But has he really changed? Is the one who wants her dead closer to home than she thought?

Review:

I’ve been on a bit of a thriller kick lately so the summary of this book caught my attention.  Don’t read me wrong, I don’t yearn to read about abusive relationships and the such but I was intrigued because I knew that the book wouldn’t be as cut and dried as the summary and I was interested to see how the author could make it both mysterious and affecting.

Lindsay escaped an abusive husband but just barely.  She and her daughter, Sophie, disappeared into the night, leaving Andrew, the abuser, behind.  Ten years later, Andrew is out of prison and he ends up in the same place as Lindsay and Sophie. When strange, scary things start happening to Lindsay and around Lindsay’s house, she naturally thinks it’s Andrew.  I didn’t think it was ever going to be Andrew because that would be too obvious and while I picked the person behind the whole thing pretty early on, the reason why they were doing what they were doing caught me off guard.  My eyes widened and I blinked a few times so congratulations on getting me with that twist.  I was impressed.

The only real nitpick I had was that I could never really connect with the Jared character.  I kept waiting for him to turn out to be some murderer just by how he treated Sophie and how he was being set up.  It was probably a false flag, something to make the reader think he could be the one doing the tormenting but every single time he was around, I was uncomfortable.  Sophie was too good for him.

Overall, an enjoyable book with a pretty good twist.  It’s an easy read, not something you have to really use too much brain power to understand but still a fast paced thriller that makes you want to keep turning the page.

 

Leave a comment