Silent Child by Sarah Denzil

33984070Silent Child
Sarah Denzil
Goodreads

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son’s red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year – a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. 


His body was never recovered. 
Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She’s married, pregnant, and in control again…

… until Aiden returns. 

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken. 
As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?

It’s Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.

Review:

I think this book could have been a lot better if it was about fifty pages shorter.  It wasn’t bad by any stretch of the imagination but the climax was dragged out a bit and really didn’t need to be as I’d guessed the culprit about a hundred pages prior.

The book also suffered from nearly making Emma, the protagonist, unlikable to a degree that I wanted to kick her in the face.  Luckily, the author dialed back some of the things she did that made me want to punch her but I still didn’t very much care for her by the book’s end.

Despite all the things that didn’t work for me about this book, the overall mystery was intriguing enough that it kept me interested enough to continue reading.  There was one small twist at the end that caught me off guard, made me mutter ‘oh fuck me’ but everything else was pretty predictable in a harmless sort of way.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s